Posted by: tsopr | June 13, 2011

Celine Rose Mariotti, American Poet

Celine Rose Mariotti was born in Derby, CT, and a lifelong resident of Shelton, CT. She’s a graduate of Sacred Heart University in Fairfield, CT majoring in Business Administration with a minor in English. Since a child, she always loved to write and when she was a senior in High School she began sending her work to publishers. Her first poem appeared in Night Roses in 1991, and her second poem appeared in Green’s Magazine of Canada in 1991. Since then her work has appeared in many literary magazines around the USA and even in India, Australia, and Scotland. Early Bird Publications of India published a primary textbook of her essays on the Presidents. She also writes a monthly column for PCM Magazine of India. Rock Village Publishing of Massachusetts published her first children’s book, “Olivia MacAllister, Who Are You?” in August of 2004. Magbooks of Hong Kong published her story “Leapy the Frog” as an e-book in April of 2006. She has self-published her poetry book, “Through Celine’s Eyes.” She’s now going to self-publish a book she wrote about corporate America. A long time fan of Tom Jones, on more than occasion, he read one of her poems out loud to an audience once in Atlantic City and another time in Las Vegas. She also plays the guitar and the banjo. She resides with her family in Shelton, CT. Her book link: http://www.gcwriters.org/Mariotti.htm

                                 Featured Poetry of Celine Rose Mariotti

Ode To My Dad

Is there anyone ever in the universe,
as talented and handy,
my Dad,
he’s very diverse,

Is there anyone ever
who is so good,
a soldier, a husband,
a father who cares,
count on him always,
he’s solid as wood,

Is there anyone ever who is so kind,
he reaches out
he’s a friend to many
my Dad,
he touches your heart
and your mind,

Is there anyone ever
I love so much,
he supports me,
he encourages me,
from him I have
learned so much,

Yes, my Dad is that
one in a million
special kind of man,
no one quite like him,
anywhere across the land,
and I am glad,
that he’s my Dad.

A Trace of the Past

Late in the night,
all is out of sight
owls are perched on a
limb of a tree
raccoons are out about
looking for debris,
the dead are sleeping in the cemetery
the silence is scary

But in the early morn-
a new day about to dawn
we sense a feeling of connection
we take time for reflection,
as we commit to our daily tasks,
there is something we need to ask

Are we connected to all who
have lived before?
Is there something true about reincarnation
and knowing more?
Is God up there calling the plays?
Do the good prevail, and the evil pay?
If we wait, does our answer come at last?
Are we a trace of the past?

A Little Shangri-La

Too much to do,
Everyday my mind is a clutter,
Life is sometimes like a zoo,
My engine caught in a rudder,
Sometimes I feel so blah,
Yes, I need a little Shangri-la.

Computer turned on first thing in the morning,
Got to know who wrote me on the e-mail,
Everything else can be so boring,
Once I’ve sent my e-mail,
Creative juices are roaring,
Some things make me laugh-ha,ha,ha,
Oh, yes, I need a little Shangri-la.

Chasing after dreams is a daily condition,
Seeing my name in print motivates me,
Becoming a famous writer-my lifelong ambition
Somebody out there, take notice of me,
I know my dream will take me far,
Right into a wonderful Shangri-la.

Copyright © 2011 Celine Rose Mariotti

Leave a Reply

Categories

