Posted by: tsopr | November 20, 2008

Edgar

Edgar
 
I wanted so much to meet
this Annabelle Lee
 
My heart proposed
that I talk to Edgar
Poe who knew her
 
I found a penchant for
writing, whence most if not all
word travelers sought
comfort and selfgratification
 
Yea, I loved to write
but got lost
being Alone
that I bartered this passion
for glasses full of painkiller
 
When the heart felt
that my thoughts became heavy
like a rock in its pocket
in deep silence
it uttered this: Oh, Edgar
 
Poe must have carried
the rock of sorrow
 
Copyright © 2008 Ernesto Pangilinan Santiago
Leave a Reply

Categories

