Posted by: tsopr | April 6, 2008

4th Muses Prize – Poetry Nominee: Ernesto P. Santiago, Poet from Greece

4th Muses Prize – Poetry Nominee: Ernesto P. Santiago, Poet from Greece

Nominated Poem in 2007: December Sky

 

Filipino Poet/Author Ernesto Pangilinan Santiago is nominated for the 4th Muses Poetry Prize, for his work “December Sky” from his poetry book “The Walking Man”. His poem, also, won a 17th place honourable mention in November 01, 2007 Poetry Soup International Poetry Contest. Mr. E. P. Santiago lives with his wife in Athens, Greece.

 

His Nominated Poem:

 

December Sky

 

I sit, with deep contentment, by the window

And watching the young evergreen out-shadowed

The oak tree, where love once etched on it, I sowed

 

My time quietly slipped into the picture

Between my only son and his firstborn son

Between the past, the present, and the future

 

I have the feelings, but no words are spoken

When the words are spoken, my own feelings gone

Hidden for life, in my sagging rocking chair

 

I felt the late afternoon cold breeze, touching

White-bearded face, with the autumn scent tingling

While the golden sun has faded, into gray

 

I saw the charmed naked ladies, still smiling

In a bright purplish pink, for there are no snows

Soon, the land will be white, when tomorrow bows

 

As I eagerly wait for December sky

To glow, with sensational firecrackers’ lights

In my arms, my grandson awaken from sleep

 

No words spoken, but, has the smile on his face

In him I saw myself, in my father’s arm

Now I know, December’s coming, to give grace

 

Muses Review/Muses Poetry Prize Nominees: http://www.musesreview.org 

Responses

  1. Congratulated for being nominated for the 4th Muses Poetry Prize, for your poem “December Sky” . This write is filled with love of family and from the heart. I am so honored to read your work Ernesto. Your friend in poetry, Rhoda Galgiani Long Island, NY, USA


Leave a Reply

Categories

